Wilson, Brady, Omission and Lying.

There is very little if anything wrong in not giving a superstar his just due. Any arguments that Russell Wilson deserves any kudos for getting the starting nod in his rookie year (against all odds), winning his first Super Bowl in his sophomore year, and making the Super Bowl in his third NFL year is simply an expectation afforded the stereotypical quarterback. Fortunately the consistent drone by the media outlining why the opposition lost versus why the Seahawks win provides great motivation fodder as well as a great segue into the whole perspective of omission and commission.

Cue Brady and the Patriots, deflate-gate, and the demise of a legacy. This is not rocket science. Let’s give my boy Brady the benefit of the doubt. Let’s say there was absolutely no link between Brady and the directive given to equipment personnel to deflate said balls outside of league rules. Now my personal history is that I could tell if a table tennis ball had a hole in it, if the basketball at the YMCA was too soft, and if the soccer ball in the garage needed a little air in it. Not being a ball expert I’ve had co-workers berate me for walking around with worn tennis balls, (clearly I have limits). What I have no doubt about however, is that on taking the field my boy Brady knew he was playing outside the rules, with balls perfectly suited to his personal preference, and did nothing to rectify the situation. Forget about everything else. This is how it works for me. At best, Brady went for the victory using an advantage handed to him on a platter. Lacking the intestinal fortitude to address the situation, my boy Brady went with the flow. At best my boy Brady is guilty only of a sin of omission. The question of course is whether or not this can take down a legacy. I say it can, and has. The sin of omission is a high standard, and a personal one, but it is the line of demarcation between a public, and the private cheat. It’s what separates the golfer who is expected to call the penalty on himself, it is what raises the game of lawn tennis a notch when the opponent overturns a call made for him, and in soccer the opposing team will kick the ball out of bounds if an opposing player is injured.

The only thing my boy Brady has done is to pull the NFL’s tights down and expose the old, worn, pink jockstraps. The fact that he will be allowed to play in the Superbowl is understandable (at +$4mio for a 30 sec commercial spot this is eminently understandable). Let’s not kid ourselves though, just as a robbery can elevate itself due to circumstance, rest assured a sin of omission walks hand in hand with lying. (Disclaimer – I rooted for Patriots to win against the Colts – only because I believe the Seahawks handle pocket passers better than mobile quarterbacks).

2 Responses to Wilson, Brady, Omission and Lying.

  1. Peter Micocci says:

    And this has… what to do with collecting art? Even generally speaking? Why am I getting an email about a sports event I did not care to watch in the first place?

    Please remove my email address from your mailing list if this is the sort of thing I can expect to receive. Thank you.

    • Occasionally I use the blog to sound off on perspectives within the black community and more generally the diaspora…. I could have linked this post to the Dan… a tribe with a very well known tradition of generosity and showmanship… I could have linked that to the lack of respect shown to Black men and women who have represented the USA in sport but who find little respect at home… I could then perhaps have even used deflate-gate to compare and contrast…. My view on African art supercedes the esthetic… it is as cultural as the beauty of a Fang spoon, a Kuba cup, the fit of a Pende mask, the diet of a slave, the low suicide rates of blacks, the misrepresentation of black poverty, and so forth. African art is the foundation of the history of the diaspora and as such I am proud to be unecumbered by a less than abstract perspective of what qualifies as an item related to the theme “Collecting African Art”.
      Btw – you can unsubscribe by going to http://subscribe.wordpress.com or by clicking the Unsubscribe link at the bottom of the email 😊

Leave a Reply

