My African Terracotta Workout Buddies.

I prefer my office cubicle to be clean, bare, and sterile. No family pictures, no degrees or certificates dressed to the nines in fancy molding or mummified laminations. The Madeba inspired reference to quotes from Invictus, and the Henry Thoreau quotes from ‘Walden’ will never again grace my workplace abode (long story, different blog).

At the mancave it’s just a little different. Here I need the complexity of tribal figures, and a cacophony of cultural rhythm and rhymes to pare the pace of my racing mind, and take the edge off the solitude that Netflix can’t totally eviscerate.

There are three components that help me stick to my daily ‘core’ workout routine.

The Oba corner bronze – this is my wake up latte – ‘no pain no gain’ inspiration mixed with delusional aspiration. There is something about Old Benin that seemed unfulfilled, yet had so much potential.

BB2

Benin – Bust of Young Oba

The living room Igbo Ikenga (aka the Kunin Ikenga) –  provides the stubborn motif, mixed with a slight taste of a ‘take no prisoners’ visual.

Kunin Ikenga

[E1] The Kunin Ikenga – from the collection of Myron Kunin

The African Terracotta are the most interesting – now the odd couple, but hopefully the audience will be expanded to three in the near future (don’t judge me).

Workout-Buddies-01w

Workout Buddies – African Terracota (Djenne)

The visage presented by my African Terracotta workout buddies is totally non-judgemental, and allows me to fall from lofty goals on occasion (like the ‘hot cross bun six pack’ vs the six pack abs I strive for). They’re like the quiet cheerleader squad sans short skirts, and frills. They recognize the grind of old age and just encourage me to keep it moving on a day to day basis.

 

 

3 Responses to My African Terracotta Workout Buddies.

  1. yagtap says:

    Nice. I’m calling this literary piece “Projecting Oya…Yet Reflecting Osun”
    Don’t mind it too much that I read “sanskrit ant hills” even though you wrote “sans short skirts, and frills” leh we leave dat alone eh!
    To expect love is to receive it unconditionally and that begins with self-acceptance. So continue to forgive indiscretions, your included. Eat ah bun or six, lol. Just keep on keeping on. Nuff respect. Cheers 😉

  2. FrozenTrini says:

    You’re prolific this week, can’t keep up. 🙂 I finally understand why I can’t stick to my workout routine: I lack African terracotta workout buddies to inspire me.

  3. Tia says:

    Six Pack Hot Cross Buns all day!
    ;-D

Leave a comment